Lex-Informatica is proud to announce the commencement and proceeding of its 12th Annual Cyberlaw / ICT Conference to be held on the 10th and 11th December 2020. In this 12th installment of the conference and amidst the continued lockdown regulations due to the COVID-19 pandemic as well as the persistence of civil society towards an increased digital activity as the new 4IR norm, various professionals gather in the comfort of their homes and offices to tackle pressing legal and technological concerns utilizing virtual meeting. The event boasts a panel of speakers from various disciplines within the field that has come to be commonly known as Cyberlaw.

The conference is a free-to-attend event with topics covered ranging from the protection of personal information, the right to privacy in the context of COVID-19 and technology private and public use of social media, cyber forensics, big data, surveillance, as well as regional and continental perspectives on domain name adjudication, online consumer protection, artificial intelligence, online privacy and defamation, intellectual property online, cryptocurrencies and child pornography.

Considering the global focus on data protection being the right to privacy, data breaches, and the use of artificial intelligence to conduct various activities aimed at defeating cybersecurity, the participation of law and tech students, as well as legal practitioners, information and compliance officers, company heads and support staff in law firms practicing in various fields, are encouraged.

The aim of the conference is therefore not only to survey the terrain of African Cyberlaws but also to engage with the solutions available to various professionals in ensuring that the cyber-related activities and existence of their companies, suppliers, and clients fall within the ambit of protection of national, regional and continental laws and legal instruments. The panel of speakers includes Cyberlaw / ICT Experts such as Judge Dr. Mohamed Chawki, Sizwe Lindelo Snail, Ms. Sophie Kwasny, Advocate Zanyiwe Asare, Ms. Melody Musoni, Neruska Bowan, Dr. Sebo Tladi, Dr. Enrico Colendro, Ms. Pria Chetty, Dr. Lee Swales, and Ms. Nomalanga Mashinini.

For more information and details:

Share this via: