Authorities in the Benin Republic have released 7 of the 12 students from Nigeria who are alleged to have committed cyber crimes in the country. This comes after Nigeria's Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Foreign Affairs and Diaspora, announced their release and explained that initially it was reported that 50 students were arrested but the Nigerian embassy in the Benin Republic was only aware of 12 arrests.

The 7 students were released from Benin's Aglaganda Police Station after a series of negotiations. They were officially released on 5 July 2018 and efforts continue to secure the release of the remaining 5 Nigerian students.

In a letter written to a petition by Joke Kujenya from Katsina State UNICEF where it was alleged that over 50 Nigerian students were detained and arrested, Mrs Dabiri-Erewa explained that only 12 were arrested by the police officials without the knowledge of the Embassy in Benin Republic.

The list of Nigerian students who were released are (as published by Nigeria's ambassador):

  • Mathew Langgapp
  • Bayo Oyenuga
  • Tari Bori
  • Samuel Akinwande
  • Dunchi Dennis
  • Steven Porobunu
  • Chuckwudi Valentine
  • Peter Ochani
  • David Esu
  • Emmanuel Chukwuneke
  • Timi Ogunleye
  • Jacob Oluwatobi

Their arrest follows follows them being placed under surveillance by authorities in Benin. Following intelligence gathered, they were then apparently caught in the act comitting cyber crimes. The nature of the cyber crimes they are alleged to have committed has not yet been made known publicly.

Share this via: