Nnedi Okarafor, the award-winning Sci-Fi author, and AfroFuturist has announced that she will be writing a 3-part comic on Marvel's Black Panther. The first comic will be titled "Black Panther - Long Live The King".

The new comic will be published digitally by Marvel and ComiXology.

![Nnedi Okarafor Black Panther Long Live The King](/content/images/2017/10/Nnedi-Okarafor-Black-Panther-Long-Live-The-King-Cover-.jpg)
Cover of Black Panther Long Live The King.

"I'll be writing a 3-issue (so far) storyline of Black Panther for @Marvel," announced Okarafor on Twitter.

The Black Panther movie is set to be released globally on 16 February 2018 and if the trailer released earlier in 2017 is anything to go by, the movie which is set in Wakanda is heavily inspired by Afrika.

"As the Black Panther and an Avenger, Tโ€™Challa has had to save the world time and again -- but those duties pale in comparison to his responsibilities as king of Wakanda. As the nation rebuilds in the wake of revolution, Tโ€™Challa finds his people besieged by a massive monster tearing through the country, leaving a trail of destruction in its wake!" explained ComiXology on what the comic will be all about.

Okarafor is an acclaimed Nigerian-American, or Naijamerican as she states on her twitter bio, Afrofuturism author, and her books include:

  • Lagoon, a British Science Fiction Association Award finalist for Best Novel.
  • Who Fears Death, a World Fantasy Award winner for Best Novel.
  • Kabu Kabu, a Publisherโ€™s Weekly Best Book for Fall 2013.
  • Akata Witch, an Amazon.com Best Book of the Year).
  • Zahrah the Windseeker, winner of the Wole Soyinka Prize for African Literature
  • The Shadow Speaker, a CBS Parallax Award winner.

Okarafor's Who Fears Death has also been selected by George R.R. Martin (of Game of Thrones fame among others) and HBO to be released as a series.

Okarafor is joined on this project by illustrator Andre Araujo who was also involved in Spidey, The Wicked and Divine. Black Panther - Long Live The King digital comic will be released 13 December 2017 but it is already available for pre-order.

Share this via: